SDLC – Waterfall Model

SDLC – Waterfall Model

The first SDLC model in the history of software development, Waterfall is the simplest. In the Waterfall model, the development process is linear. Tasks and phases are completed one by one in a strict order. The progress flows steadily downwards, like water over a waterfall.

The traditional phases in the Waterfall model are:

  1. Requirements gathering
  2. Design
  3. Implementation
  4. Integration and testing
  5. Deployment
  6. Maintenance

The Waterfall model does not permit going back to previous stages of development to fix things or implement changes. This can only be done in the next Waterfall iteration.


  • Easy to explain to the client and easy for the team to understand
  • Obvious structure with well-defined stages and activities
  • Easy planning and scheduling with clear milestones
  • Phases completed one at a time
  • Errors and misconveniences are easy to verify at each stage
  • Every stage is easy to analyze and evaluate
  • Well-documented processes


  • Only works with non-flexible requirements
  • Can’t return to completed stages
  • Hard to adjust
  • Cost of development is usually high
  • High risk of bugs and other inconveniences
  • Difficult to measure progress during stages

Best for projects with:

  • Stable, non-ambiguous requirements
  • A clear definition of and vision for the product
  • Well-known technologies and a stable technology stack
  • Enough resources for implementation and support
  • A short time frame

Author: themindstudios